• LondonJosh31

    London

    Reviewed April 8, 2013

    Perfect location

    We stayed on Ilha Grande 2 years ago and had spotted this place whilst on a boat trip. Returning to the island it seemed the obvious place to go - the team are incredibly helpful and friendly- they arranged a transfer from our previous stay and we were met at the pier by the taxi boat and a really warm welcome. The rooms are nestled in the forest by a great little beach (Crena) which is a few minutes walk away and perfect for turtle spotting (and monkeys too!). The rooms are really clean and bright and sit just above the bar and dining area which is incredibly atmospheric. An afternoon of reading on the terrace followed by cocktails and great food is sometimes just enough but the team here are great at suggesting places to go and organising trips when more adventure is required. The best caiparinha on the island was made here, and the food is really great! Away from the bustle of the village I would say this is the ideal spot to stay whilst on the island, and Asalem make travelling to other areas incredibly easy - with a 24 hour taxi boat service between the village and Asalem. Would definitely stay here again when visiting the island.

    Room Tip: The eco suites look and sound amazing - definitely one for the next trip. 

  • SSAGIGI

    Salvador, BA

    Reviewed January 29, 2013

    Perfect stay in Asalem

    We loved our short but perfect stay here in December. The pousada is nicely located at a short distance with beautiful views of Abrahão Village. We stayed at the Eco suite which had the biggest and best bed ever and the panoramic glass shower has an incredible view. Couldn't be more romantic and definitely worth the extra money for a unique stay.

    Staff were incredibly helpful with great English and went out of their way to find us last minute tours of the Island. After some kayaking, swimming and a few Caipirinhas we enjoyed our candle-lit dinner at the restaurant with its amazing views. Since the pousada is not very big, guests do get undivided attention and we spent a great evening with interesting people from all over the world. We loved the Hi-Low combination of Asalem which combines simplicity and nature with the luxurious and comfortable rooms (and BED). For such an isolated destination, we were amazed to see the quality in their service and food. Ilha Grande receives too many cruises on a weekly basis, so we were lucky to be far away from the mass tourism and be treated like friends. We hope to return soon one day to explore more of the fascinating Island!

    Room Tip: Splurge a little and book the Eco-Suite, UNregrettable!  

  • Antonio

    Rio de Janeiro

    Reviewed January 3, 2013

    Hidden Paradise

    We arrived for New Year holidays to this "Hidden Paradise" Hotel in the middle of the forest but 5 min by boat from town of Abraão in Ilha Grande Brazil. We had no idea what we could find so everything was a BIG surprise. Charming rooms, lovely/friendly staff, excellent food & service. We simply LOVED it at all times during our week holidays here. With bright sun or rainy day we enjoyed it fully. Other guests were mostly foreigners coming from all over the world, NY, Japan, France, Italy so we had nice conversations zipping caipirinhas (local drink) every afternoon before sunset. Don’t miss lasagna de berengenas & peixe con banana e coco for dinner. Uffff... The best.. Sure we will be back soon. Thanks. Thanks. This place is a MUST.

    Room Tip: every room has full water view.. Standard are charming double high rooms & Ecco NY type modern.
     

  • Allan Campbell

    Traveled as a couple

    Reviewed January 16, 2013

    Great location, friendly helpful staff, chilled out feeling

    All people on Ilha Grande agree that it's the best place to stay. We booked the honeymoon suite for 5 nights, it was amazing. The food is great value and delicious. The staff have a few languages between them, so communication is easy. 

    If I return to Ilha Grande, Asalem is where I will be staying again.  

  • Chanel

    Young Couple

    Hampton, Australia

    26, January 2013

    Loved the location in the rainforest. Restaurant food was excellent, particularly the seafood in cococnut.  

  • Tjeerd

    Young couple

    Amsterdam, Netherlands

    January 25, 2013

    The staff was very friendly and spoke fluent English. When we arrived at Ilha Grande we were immediately picked up by boat to go to the hotel. Although it rained a lot during our stay, the view and the excellent cooking made our stay one to remember for a long time. It takes a bit long before you get dinner, but it's worth the wait  

  • Beckiboo1983

    Traveled as a couple

    London, United Kingdom

    Stayed December 2012

    Best place on the island

    We stayed at Asalem in Dec 2012 and had a lovely time. It was the last stop of a year-long trip in Latin America, so we splurged and treated ourselves to this little bit of paradise. The standard rooms aren't the newest... I personally think for the price they could be updated. However the bed was insanely comfortable! And we had a great terrace overlooking the sea. The view cannot be beaten. We spent our four days there mainly walking 15mins through the forest to a beautiful beach... begins with A... can't remember the actual name! But this was the easiest and most relaxing way to get on the beach. Otherwise you have to take a water taxi everywhere which can add up.

    We did take a boat out to one beach - Lopes Mendes. Highly recommend doing this. Probably the best beach I've ever seen!! And I've seen quite a few! Clear, turquoise water, great waves to jump in, white sand. Just beautiful!

    The restaurant at Asalem was also brilliant. We tried a couple of other restaurants in town (…) and Asalem was by far the best. You have to pre-order your food as they only have one chef, and it's all cooked freshly that evening. But it's certainly worth waiting for. The fish in coconut milk is just divine. And you're eating, relatively on your own (the restaurant only sits about 8 people) and it's just you, the sea, candlelit tables... and your amazing food!

    We had a great time here. A brilliant place to finish our trip.  

  • Alice C

    Traveled as a couple

    Bordeaux, France

    Reviewed December 13, 2012

    Perfect

    In a beautiful place like Ilha Grande, ideally you need to book a pousada which complements the location. Asalem does just that, with a beautiful view and set so you can jump straight into the water, swim to or take a 5 minute walk to one of the island's beaches.

    Breakfast is the usual you find in Brazil, including cakes, fresh strawberry juice and the best scrambled eggs we had all trip. Guests can use their canoes and there is a boat which takes you to the center of town (otherwise it's an easy 20-25 minute trek/trail). We saw turtles here too!! The staff are very friendly and helpful.

    This is not a boutique hotel but it's certainly a boutique pousada. Highly recommended and do contact me if you want to ask any questions about it!  

  • Victoria A

    Traveled as a couple

    London

    Reviewed December 20, 2012

    Little Gem....

    From the minute we arrived the staff at Asalem couldn't do enough for us, their approach was very personable and helpful especially Jack and Paola who were very attentive. The location was amazing and the staff was pretty much at your beck and call if you wanted a water taxi into town about 10 minutes. The rooms whilst basic were very good, each has a mezzanine floor for the bedroom and is equipped with a hammock to chill out on. The small terrace area is lovely too with great views. Breakfast is great and so was dinner on the 2 occasions we ate at the hotel. I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Ilha Grande. Thanks again Emma and Sam, UK.  

  • Frida

    Young couple

    Mmölndal, Sweden

    October 24, 2012

    The hotel staff was very keen on us having a wonderful stay and happy to help you. The location of the hotel is wonderful, on a hillside next to the ocean overlooking the bay of Vila do Abrao. Very romantic and exotic. If you're lucky you can see turtles in the bay (we did). The standard of the hotels (any hotel) on this island is not very high compared to other places. It is a development country. But it is a very beautiful place with very friendly people.  

  • Alice c

    Traveled with friends

    Bordeaux, France

    Reviewed October 14, 2012

    Close to paradise

    Asalem is very close to paradise... A peaceful environment with the most beautiful landscape I've ever seen from a window, a nice wooden house nearly lost in a great garden, wonderful meals and, above all, the impression of being at home with such nice hosts! They're really helpful and friendly, have free DVD and books to read, kayaks, etc. This place is more expensive than most of the pousadas in Vila do Abraão, but nevertheless, after spending one night in the village, I'm very glad we moved to Asalem for the rest of our stay - and I wish we could stay longer!  

  • José

    Mature couple

    Ferrol, Spain

    October 15, 2012

    Es una pousada/mini-resort maravillosa, única. Está situada en un entorno privilegiado, las habitaciones son preciosas con unas vistas increibles. El personal muy hospitalario (gracias Paula!). La comida muy buena, en un lugar precioso, sobre el mar. Lo recomendaría a todo aquel que le guste un entorno natural y tranquilo. Si buscas marcha no es un lugar para tí.  

  • Ankur

    Young couple

    Thornton-Cleveleys, United Kingdom

    September 27, 2012

    Asalem was a fantastic retreat with a beautiful location on Ilha Grande. Paulo, Jack and the staff were great and helped out wherever they could, and spoke good English. The Caipirinha's were the best we had in Brazil!  

  • RHB_Brazil

    Rio de Janeiro, RJ

    Reviewed August 5, 2012

    Peaceful paradise...

    We enjoyed our time in Asalem and this is a place we would definitely go back to. The place is secluded and it gives you an enjoyable and private experience in Ilha Grande, far from the 'touristy' hotels and groups (yet just a few minutes trip with Asalem`s boat if you need to get there), this gives you a peaceful and relaxing time. A few tips:
    - remember to bring bugs repellent for you to wear

    - tennis shoes are recommended for the hiking trails between the pousada and the beaches
    - wifi signal is not the strongest so don’t plan on using your laptop from your room (which is great as you should relax here!) - but they do have a computer for you to use at the reception for you to use if you have to
    - property does have a few staircases to go to different levels, so it is not highly recommended for the elderly or disabled. The food was very good, the views are amazing and the staff is very helpful. They can provide information about things to do during your stay, recommendations on restaurants, etc.

    We found that the price here was a little bit more than other pousadas, but the experience was more than worth the difference. It is indeed a peaceful paradise!  

  • Ana

    Young couple

    Belo Horizonte, Brazil

    August 12, 2012

    Ambiente agradabilíssimo, me senti como se estivesse sendo recebida na casa deles, sem impessoalidades. Acomodações muito boas, vista do café da manhã incrível, café também incrível, recomendo com todas as estrelas possíveis.  

  • Rebecca

    Young couple

    Southampton, United Kingdom

    August 28, 2012

    Excellent rooms... Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Stunning views for mealtimes. Meals better than anywhere else in Abrao. Quiet beach nearby. We loved it all.  

  • Traveldad31

    Traveled as a couple

    Newmarket, New Hampshire

    Reviewed July 12, 2012

    Amazing welcome...

    Asalem gave us an amazing welcome and never disappointed from there on out. Our bus from Rio was delayed and we caught the last boat to Ilha Grande. It was night and we were tired, hungry, and not sure what to expect next. From the boat, a newly made acquaintance phoned ahead to Asalem for us. By the time we reached the dock, and before our schooner was even secured, Asalem's little taxi boat pulled up beside us. We threw our luggage onboard and while everybody else started trudging around in the dark looking for their Pousadas, we knew we had already arrived in paradise. After a short ride, we arrive to our room, with the gentle sound of the ocean and a piping hot meal of calamari already waiting for us. It wasn't until the next morning that we saw the amazing view. This really is an incredible place.
    Beds are very comfortable. Staff are super friendly and speak perfectly fluent English, French and German. Rooms are very large with loft sleeping areas. At night, everything is lit with candles.

    The only real drawback is accessibility. By foot, the trail is inaccessible at night or high tide and a bit tricky even at the best of times. A taxi boat costs 15 Reais each way for two people, so budget for this. Even if you don't stay here, come for a dinner (need to call ahead). The food/view combination is unbeatable.  

  • Anna

    Young couple

    Kyiv, Ukraine

    June 10, 2012

    Asalem is very romantic and beautiful place!! 

  • Gianni C

    Sydney

    Reviewed June 5, 2012

    We love Ilha Grande...

    What an amazing stay!!! We spent 5 days during our Honeymoon in the Eco-Honeymoon Suite and were absolutely delighted with our stay. The private and tranquil setting was perfect and waking to water views every morning through the scrub reminded us it was just another day in paradise. The owner Andre is an interesting and likeable person as is the rest of the Asalem family. The staff are always willing to assist in any way or just to provide great company and a friendly chat. The view from the breakfast table is inspiring and a very enjoyable way to start the day. For dinner you can't go past the fish in coconut sauce...divine. I recommend going out on the speedboat for the day. Asalem provides the driver and you make your own itinerary. Even though it was mid-May we had 5 glorious days of sunshine. The 24hr boat service makes it worth staying out of the main town Abraão. Definitely a place to return to.  

  • Amelia

    Solo traveller

    Surrey, United Kingdom

    May 2, 2012

    I would give Asalem top marks for a very high standard of accommodation, exceptional facilities and services. I lacked for nothing during my stay there!... The staff were very professional, friendly and helpful staff (all multilingual). Nothing was too much trouble for them. Asalem itself is situated in an excellent spot, with stunning views of the island from everyone room as far as the eye can see, away from the bustle of the main Village (Abraão). There was always a boat on standby provided by owners. Breakfast and dinner were exceptional! I would wholeheartedly recommend this Pousada to everyone wishing to stay in Ilha Grande and I look forward to returning there myself in the near future.  

  • Virginia

    Young couple

    CABA, Argentina

    10 May 2012

    Ha sido un placer alojarnos unos dias ahi. La atencion y el servicio excelente. Un lugar con una vista alucinante y con mucha tranquilidad. Si quieren desconectarse de todo, no duden en ir ahi.  

  • Sebastian

    Young couple

    CAPITAL FEDERAL, Argentina

    April 30, 2012

    Peaceful and harmony. They take care carefuly of every detail of tourism. Every single person on this hotel is advocated to make your stay be as good as you expect it and more.